Herbivore or Omnivore?

How many times has someone tried pushing the argument that vegetarianism is better for you than eating meat (as a human)? As a butcher by trade I have always answered this enigma with , “I am an omnivore.” That is to say that I eat both vegetation and meat, in a well balanced diet. if we were supposed to eat just green stuff to sustain us then that little organ at the bottom of our intestines would in fact still function. As it is the appendix in the human digestive tract is completely redundant and superfluous. It does work in animals that eat nothing but vegetation as it is used to break down cellulose, but when a balanced and varied diet is consumed the foodstuffs react upon each other in order to break them down into the necessary molecules for distribution around the body. I know that it is a matter of personal choice whether to eat meat or not but I have always thought that vegans generally look quite ill, as if they need a damned good steak or something! Each to their own I suppose but I for one would much rather feel like I have plenty of energy inside me to take on the trials and tribulations that life throws at us. I could be wrong about the energy levels but every vegan that I have ever met just looks pasty, with rheumy, tired looking eyes and unable to carry out any kind of task, even lifting up a good book to read! Besides, I have tried eating a nut roast in the past and the first thing I wanted to do was to go and buy a half-pounder! So let’s embrace our human trait and be proud to eat a decent lamb chop with all the trimmings of roast spuds, green beans, sprouts, carrots all covered in a nice rich gravy! Got to go now, I am hungry…

Published by: carlpeters

Got my degree at University of Cumbria (Lancaster) in English Lit and Creative Writing and now find how difficult it really is to make yourself write everyday. Hardest job in the world!

Categories Uncategorized2 Comments

2 thoughts on “Herbivore or Omnivore?”

    1. I once went out with someone that said she was a vegetarian and would regularly meet me from work at the butchers and every time we went past a fish and chip shop she fancied a piece of chicken! You’re right though Sally, everything in moderation! No need to be greedy!

Leave a Reply

