To Blog or Not to Blog…

New Year’s resolutions! Strange phrase isn’t it, one that we all say at some point or another (me included!). I haven’t made any point in recent year’s of saying it in though, rather preferring to make a kind of solemn promise to myself to make sure certain things change in my life (never worried about the trying to give up smoking one though, it is the last vice left and I don’t smoke as much as I used to!). This year I have done the same as usual for me and decided that it was time to stop being afraid of technology (and writing!) and get on with writing the blog that I actually set up last September. That’s why I decided to look a little bit more into wordpress and have a go at this blogging malarkey with a bit more conviction and resolve. Until I did a degree just recently I was what is known in our modern day and age as a real technophobe. There are quite a few of us out there. As with most jobs and organisations in our busy modern world, the internet and computers are fast becoming a part of our everyday lives and two or three people on my course at Uni said that they thought I ought to get myself a blog. I hadn’t really considered that anyone might be interested in anything that I would have to say (still trying to convince myself of it!) but decided that it would be best to take the advice from my peers and all those writers on the Creative Writing part of the degree; that is, to just keep on writing, practice makes perfect. They are also correct in teaching us that it is probably one of the hardest jobs in the world to do, but with perseverance, one of the most rewarding. Now I don’t write as much in longhand (except for those cruddy first drafts!) but as I am now a lot more used to the keyboard since the degree, it is definitely a great idea to carry on writing in digital form. This idea of blogging is a great way to just get something down (who knows, somebody might even read it!) and just stay in the habit of actually writing (well typing) something, and then some of the unfinished projects that are taking up space on my hard drive will have much more chance of actually getting finished and perhaps seeing the light of day! After all, if we do not write anything in the first place then we cannot expect to write that short story or novel. How many people out there think to themselves that it would be a great idea to write a book, and yet they do not even read, let alone write? My latest solemn oath to myself is to make sure that I get back to work (back to the real world after the degree!), to blog as often as possible and to post some of the stories that I finish for all those people out there who enjoy a good story. I managed to write very average academic essays at Uni, but the Creative Writing was what I found myself to be much better at as oppose to all that literary theory. A literature critic I most definitely am not so one day somebody else can do the “lit crit” on my work, I’ll just stick to attempting to write the story! Here’s to a happy new year to all and lots more writing.

Leave a Reply

