All People Are Equal, Aren’t We?

I am today making a kind of response to the last blog entry I made. I quite enjoyed my last bit of writing and it got some exceptionally strong memories out of me. I sent it to several people that I know, one of them an old mate who I hung around with around the time of those memories. It got him to thinking about those illustrious leaders of ours and their taste and love for alcohol which is sold to them from several bars that are in the Houses of Parliament. These areas are quite possibly, if not probably, used for their meetings with other politicians and dignitaries where they would be discussing all sorts of things to do with order and most importantly how best they are going to make our lives so much better (their words, not mine!) Just as an aside here, I understand that the smoking ban that came in a few years ago was never implemented in these bars (people – correct me if I am wrong please) which is yet another case of one rule for us and another for them. As for these meeting places, isn’t this a case of people getting intoxicated in the work place? I wonder how many of them are checking their daily recommended unit intake that the rest of us in the masses are bombarded with so often in the press. As another personal observation I have noticed often that when someone new comes into the fold of this select group that they usually appear much as we all do in that they look pretty healthy and fit, a shine in their eyes and full heads of hair. Within just a few years though those waistlines begin bulging and expanding, faces look considerably chubbier and the hair becomes very grey (anyone seen Clegg lately and Cameron’s looking quite corpulent). All that good, decadent living would appear to take its toll then. These people are supposed to set an example for all of us plus don’t forget, we elected them to apparently lead us. Personally I wouldn’t mind half of what they earn and I still consider that to be a substantial wage so does that mean that I have been on the breadline all my life? Yet we often hear from these same people how they need to have their wages raised often so that they can do their jobs, as well as they get expenses on top, and we all know about that scam now, don’t we?! Do they live in the same world as us, the hoi-polloi, then? And if the answer to that is no, then how can they make all these important decisions for us with our best interests in mind? It seems to me that they have become quite detached from all of our (normal?) lives. I wonder, does that make them separatists? Or even worse, extremists? We have heard of several of them in the past attempting to live on what they call government hand outs, every report I have read has said for a week. As far as I know every single one of them has said that this kind of money cannot be lived on. Now I am not saying that we should instantly demand more benefits (although they are needed for deserving cases) but when are these so called leaders going to realise that some drastic measures need to be taken to make the world and its conditions more equal, for all. Heaven forbid they wouldn’t be able to give up , for example, half of what they earn and put it into the economy, then just maybe some of the real ludicrously rich people might just follow suit and share the wealth. Honestly, 80% of the world’s wealth shared amongst 5% of the population? It seems to me that the Capitalist “classless” society is much more like that Orwell novel, as there is definitely some people who appear to be more equal than others.

Leave a Reply

