Writer’s Block?

I’ve not blogged for a while now. I could make lots of excuses, but that would be quite sad really, as all humans have problems of some kind throughout their lives. Funny how a year on the dole can bring you down somewhat. You begin with the brightest outlook and determine that you won’t get dragged down and yet I found myself 6 months into signing on, jobsearching and leaping through all the hoops the Government lay down for people out of work, and still it got to me! I actually have not done any writing at all since last May, let alone getting onto my blog. So three days ago I was ecstatic to sit down and do a free write! Just getting a part time job cleaning around a factory made me realise that I no longer had to do a jobsearch every day and so the window of opportunity for writing was back! Not sure if anything will come out of it, but just the act of sitting down and getting something on paper really pleased me! There is one or two sentences in there though that look interesting! Out of the compost a bloom shall appear! I even got myself down to the Litcaff in Carlisle this week too! Not too many people as it was the first one after Xmas, but some excellent writing on offer! I have promised myself that I will have something written to read out at the next one in February, as it is good to share our work with other writers, always. Now to get back to all those unfinished projects on the laptop. No sitting at the desk, or with a blank page in front of me and then thinking of any of those jobs around the house instead of actually writing! Am I the only one who when attempting to write will start thinking about the blocked plughole, or the bag of rubbish that needs to go out? it is very hard to get the writing started but this week has reminded me that when we do actually sit down and do it, it’s one of the most rewarding things in the world! Words are our magic and if we take just a little time, it is amazing how we can be affected by them. Anyone else out there who has trouble getting it down sometimes? What shitty, inane jobs do you think of to stop yourself from writing? Well I have got a few things to have a go at with words so if anyone’s interested then watch this space! Write, write, write…..

Leave a Reply

