Grey Matter

Okay, let’s try and get some of those brain cells in action. Here’s something I have thought about for years but still don’t seem to have a satisfactory answer. I am not a scientist, but I do have an interest in the subject. So I read years ago somewhere that all of our cells, that is everything associated with our bodies as we know it, regenerate and replace them selves in cycles, I believe every decade or so (remember I’m not a scientist!) So if everything is replaced then at my ripe old age of 47 then this has happened at least four times and onto the fifth, right (in my body)? So if this includes the brain, it is after all an organ made of cells (logically thinking), then where do memories actually come from? A question I have thought about, chatted with mates down the pub over a couple of swift ones (blokes in a group do that a lot don’t they? Choose a most heavy subject and try debating it over drinks!) and randomly just brought up in groups of chatting people. I have heard a few theories, well rounded arguments to say of possible places where they are stored. But so far my brain can still only hold onto the fact that everything has been replaced so where are they stored? Is this going into the infinite universe of the atom? Is this where humans could find all those elusive answers to the questions about life? I’m still pondering, the jury’s still out and hung…..

Leave a Reply

